Pin on Pinterest
Best of Plano 2016

BEST OF PLANO 2016: Plano Chamber Announces Award Recipients

Plano, TX - September 14, 2016 - The Plano Chamber of Commerce is proud to announce the 2016 Best of Plano Award recipients. The honorees will be celebrated at a gala on Thursday, October 6, 2016, from 6:30 to 10 p.m. at the Marriott Dallas-Plano at Legacy Town Center. The awards ceremony will also honor the Plano Chamber of Commerce’s platinum anniversary and 70 years of excellence.

“Each year we bring the community together to celebrate the best and brightest in Plano,” Plano Chamber President/CEO Jamee Jolly said. “We are fortunate to have some amazing corporate citizens and business professionals that serve our community. Best of Plano helps to highlight and honor the work of these individuals and companies.”

The Plano Chamber will honor Harvey Fishero as the 2016 Citizen of the Year. As former CEO with Hospital Corporation of America (HCA), Fishero oversaw five HCA-owned facilities, including The Medical Center of Plano. He is a former board member and Plano Chamber of Commerce Chairman of the Board.

In addition to dedicating extensive time to professional organizations, Fishero gives back to the community by holding leadership roles in many community organizations, including United Way and Collin County Court Appointed Special Advocates (CASA), among others. Most recently, Fishero served as President of the Plano ISD Education Foundation and assumed the role of interim Executive Director when needed.

He has also served on many committees including the Plano Economic Development Board, Collin College Committee of 100, and City of Plano International Relations Committee. He was Chair of the Dallas Fort Worth Hospital Council Foundation and was named a Life Fellow in American College of Healthcare Executives. He is a Leadership Plano Class XIV graduate, Plano Father of the Year finalist, and he was recognized in “21 for the 21st Century” by the Collin County Business Journal.

Also being recognized is Sara Akers, who will receive the ATHENA Leadership Award®. Since 1986, the Plano Chamber annually honors one of Plano’s most accomplished businesswomen for professional excellence, community service, and inspiring others to achieve their full potential. Akers will join 30 other remarkable women as the 31st recipient of the ATHENA Award.

Founder and Executive Director of Plano Children’s Theatre, Akers contributes a great deal of time and energy to improve the quality of life for youth in the community. Founded in 1991, the Plano Children’s Theatre created the North Texas Performing Arts umbrella in 2014 to oversee all branches across North Texas, including McKinney and Frisco. The organization’s first production in Dallas will be held this year as well as celebrating their 25th anniversary. Plano Children’s Theatre was also honored as Community Partner of the Year in 2012 under Akers’ leadership.

The Plano Chamber will also present the first ever Rising Star Award in recognition of Plano’s up-and-coming business and community leaders. This award recognizes a young professional (25-40 years old) whose professional success is matched by their commitment to serving the Plano community. Monica Shortino of Capital One is the first recipient.

The Plano Chamber named Rusty Gentry with Toyota of Plano as Business Executive of the Year in recognition of his leadership, strategic thinking, and a pursuit for excellence within the Plano business community.

To recognize their involvement in and support of critical community issues as well as enhancing the Plano economy through the successful operation of their business, Cigna will be awarded the Outstanding Corporate Citizen of the Year.

In addition to commemorating 30 years of serving those affected by domestic violence in Collin County, Hope’s Door has been named as the Community Partner of the Year.

Janelle Twyford-Silvis of AlleeOops Photography will be honored with the Fred Moses Minority Business Development Award, which honors a business leader who has illustrated exceptional business achievement, contributions to the community, and dedication to integrity.

The Plano Chamber will honor Taco Diner as the Rookie of the Year. The Small Business Person of the Year is Doug Trumbull of Doug’s Mighty Clean and Magnum Flooring in recognition of his exemplary entrepreneurship and success as a small business owner. 

Celebrate in style on Thursday, October 6, 2016. Tickets and reserved tables are available at


About the Plano Chamber of Commerce: Established in 1946, the Plano Chamber represents over 1,100 businesses and community organizations in Plano and the surrounding area. The Plano Chamber of Commerce is committed to maximizing business development and economic growth of the community through advocacy, education, innovation, and collaboration. 

Recognize 2404 Views