Pin on Pinterest
2014 Congressional Art Competition's People's Choice Award winner by Sayana Susmitha from Allen High School, entitled “The Wanderers.”

PLANO, TX –  U.S. Congressman Sam Johnson’s (TX-03) Congressional Art Competition continues as voting begins for the 2015 People’s Choice Award.   From now through April 17th at 5pm CST, Collin County constituents are invited to view all 84 high school students’ entries on Congressman Johnson’s website and vote for their favorite

“Collin County has some exceptionally talented high school artists, and I’m thrilled to offer this opportunity to let them showcase their unique artwork,” said Johnson.  “I encourage everyone to check out the creativity of these students and vote for their favorite piece!  The artist whose work receives the most online votes will receive this year’s ‘People’s Choice Award’ – and they will be recognized at the upcoming Art Competition Ceremony in May.  This means a lot to our student artists, and I know they would all appreciate your support.  I wish all our students good luck and I thank them for participating!”

About the Art Competition

The Congressional Art Competition is open to all high school students, whether they attend public, private, or home schools.

On April 27th, Congressman Johnson will also host an art exhibit and award ceremony to display entries and announce the First, Second, Third, and Fourth Place winners, as well as the People’s Choice Award and Honorable Mentions.  The event is free and open to the public.     

The First Place winner will have the rare and unique opportunity to have their artwork displayed in the U.S. Capitol Building for one year as part of an exhibition comprised of artwork from across the country.  The First Place winner will also win a free trip to Washington, D.C. where the student will meet with Congressman Johnson and attend an award reception and exclusive unveiling ceremony for all the art competition winners nationwide.

The Second Place winner’s art will displayed in the Plano District Office for one year.

If you plan to attend the Art Competition Award Ceremony, please RSVP to Alexis Dromgoole


Recognize 2445 Views
Related Posts