Stephen Lu – Guest Contributor
May 14 2012

The Plano Independent School District honored its Teachers of the Year at their "Teaching by Design" Gala on Thursday, May 10 at the Plano Center. Ronnie Cantu and Gregory Arp were selected as Elementary and Secondary Teachers of the Year, respectively.

Cantu is a fifth grade teacher at Forman Elementary School while Arp is is the Performing Arts Director at Plano Senior High School. The two were chosen from a nominee pool of 71 excellent and experienced teachers. Cantu and Arp are eligible to advance in the Texas Teacher of the Year competition.

Along side Cantu and Arp, eight other teachers were recognized as Excellence in Teaching winners - four for elementary school and four for secondary school.

Excellence in Elementary Teaching Award Winners

  • Carla Carter - Dooley Elementary School
  • Jeanne Hayes - Shepard Elementary School
  • Nicole McCasland - Huffman Elementary School
  • Shelli Stutzman - Jackson Elementary School

Excellence in Secondary Teaching Award Winners

  • Judith Alfaro - Bowman Middle School
  • Jill Engelking - McMillen High School
  • Jason Schreiner - Otto Middle School
  • Brian Seay - Clark High School

Finally, PISD honored two more teachers for Excellence in Beginning Teaching. As implied, these teachers are in their first year as educators. They are Brittany Welch with Meadows Elementary School and Bianca Prado with Frankford Middle School.